Blue ridge

Standard

IMG_5219.JPG

I’m atop the blue ridge parkway ! On the last mountain of the trail πŸ™‚ I did the last big climb and with no rain πŸ™‚

IMG_5217.JPG

This was, as planned, a very short ride, and with lots of walking. Just above the 30mis/50kms mark. I stayed on the main road to reach Vesuvius, the village at the bottom of the climb. Not a good decision this time ! Usually the main road is flatter but there was lots of ups and down.

IMG_5218-1.JPG

I left at about 8, with the odds of rain heavily stacked against me. But I remained optimistic and dressed as usual. I got a few drops at the start but nothing else ! Another very lucky day for me πŸ™‚

IMG_5221.JPG

And finally I was there ! I saw the last moutain standing in my way πŸ™‚ It had been covered in mist up to this point. The very last big challenge. But I was feeling way more happy than anxious. I already did quite a few climbs, even if they lied far behind me now.

IMG_5229.JPG

So I started the climb. Very steep road, but with some gentler parts here and there. Quite a physical challenge though. After one hour I was sweating like a donkey. But I reached the parkway ! It was a steep but quick climb, about 3mis/5kms, much faster than Monarch pass (9mis/15kms) or Cedar breaks (14mis/23kms). 2000 feet or 600m up in this short distance. Nice to get the heart rate going πŸ™‚

IMG_5232.JPG

IMG_5235.JPG

The blue ridge parkway is a road on the top of the moutain ridge. It goes north all along this part of the Washington forest. And for all this part I rode in the clouds πŸ™‚ It reminded me of Scotland mist, when you can’t see more than a few yards away. I just had to remain on the road. Very little traffic, some going up and down, and I was arrived.

IMG_5237.JPG

I could have gone on I guess, but I was completely wet and cold, not a good idea to remain that way for long. So I’m staying at a place called Love πŸ™‚ Love is lost in the forest, with nothing around and no one there πŸ™‚ Somehow it reminds me of Hite, except it’s not desertic, hot and dry in a canyon, but evergreen, cold and humid on a mountain πŸ™‚

IMG_5244.JPG

No tv antenna here, but DVDs to be rented. And I took the two lord of the ring movies they had πŸ™‚ After watching the hobbit twice in a week and the latest planet of the apes πŸ™‚ I’m a big fan of Andy Serkis, the most famous actor that no one has ever seen πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

