Swinging on lianas

Standard

20140607-220559-79559460.jpg

This was a rest day today at Cedar city, and for once I really didn’t do much. I even napped during the afternoon, something I’m generally unable to do. Still, I planned the days ahead.

20140607-220702-79622080.jpg

The next map crosses Utah. There are at least two huge climbs, one stretch with just one announced stop in 130mis/200kms, and generally not a lot of civilization. It’s not as empty as I thought though. There are little towns here and there, and no absolute need to do another 80mis/120kms stretch again, which is good. So I’ve cut the 450mis/720kms into 12 stops. That’s an average of 38mis/60kms a day, quite less than what I’m used to do, which is exactly the objective. I could end up doing half of that in campgrounds, with a minimum of a quarter. But I’ll regularly find shops around, so no need to carry food and water for a week.

20140607-220806-79686644.jpg

This got me feeling again that I’m swinging from one liana to another during this whole trip. I start from a safe place and reach another (mostly). I’ve never completely gone random / wild camping, and I don’t think I’m going to try. That’s the limit of this adventure 🙂 I don’t want to put myself at risk, leaving trails and roads, stopping anywhere, not preparing ahead… I’m reaching into a challenge area, certainly, but not a risk area, to speak in management terms. Crossing Brazil, for instance, a country and a language I don’t know, without any map or link to the web, sounds as far to my current trip as my trip is to my previous work routine.

I get in touch regularly with friends, read the news, go to the movies, take days of rest, sleep in a bed most of the time… These are all links to a “usual life” that all help me cross a whole continent on a bike. Maybe in another journey I’ll go deeper into the adventure, just like you explore new caves after you get to know the first ones when you go spelunking.

I’ll rest again tomorrow. I’ll do short runs after that but probably no rest days – it should even out. Plus the first day east is the biggest climb of the whole trip : going up to the Cedar breaks national monument, a climb of 4000feet/1500m over 25mis/40kms. Surprisingly, it’s only an average slope of 4%, still I don’t think I’m gonna ride all of that 🙂 I’ve been looking over there the whole day – that’s the first pic 🙂

20140607-220901-79741958.jpg

20140607-220902-79742441.jpg

Leave a Reply

