Cedar city

Standard

20140606-215848-79128716.jpg

I reached a very important point in my journey today, as it’s the westernmost city I’ll go back to. After that, I’m only going to go east until I hit the other side of the continent. No more fumbling around canyons or strips ! Go east !

20140606-215425-78865063.jpg

For this day I realized it could be a bad thing to over-prepare. I had checked the map, plotted the elevation map, considered possible stops, etc. And in the end, got myself really worried for not (too) much. Leaving Springdale, the first third was a long downhill to La Verkin (yeah, strange name). And then a long uphill all the way, for 40mis/65kms. As I was still tired from the Page-Kanab carnage, I thought I would pass out going up for so long.

20140606-220000-79200398.jpg

So the first part was great, leaving the Zion park slowly, as it extends on both sides of Springdale. Barbara’s house, the landlord of Margo, has an exceptional view : yesterday’s last pic was taken from her doorstep ! Downhill almost all the way, although for each bump my legs were already complaining. Then down to La Verkin for a stop to eat and drink.

20140606-220049-79249945.jpg

I was really, really nervous for the next few miles up to the interstate, my old nemesis I15. I was considering going back and staying in La Verkin for the night. But pride, my dark passenger, wouldn’t have it. What ? You’re going to stop after 20mi/30kms only ?! Plus the uphill will still be here tomorrow ! Useless to put it off !

So I kept on going, ready to walk at any difficulty. On the highway I quickly felt better : there was quite a few flat bits, and even some downhill. Sure I walked a few hills, but I didn’t end up walking the whole part. And as I kept going up, the temperature remained the same, even if I arrived around 2pm.

I didn’t take a lot of pics. After Zion, everything looks a bit bland to be honest. It was a nice background all around, just not as impressive.

20140606-215145-78705690.jpg

I finished another map ! Did about half of it, but this one was really hard. Before I slingshot across Utah, I will rest for one or even two days. Will I go see xmen yet again ? Will I catch up on game of thrones ? Will I finally do a laundry ? On such a ride, these become critical questions 🙂

Leave a Reply

