What am I gonna miss ?

Standard

Salon_03

This week I am starting to prepare moving out of my flat. I will put it on the market in a few days. Hopefully I’ll find a buyer before I leave for the USA, otherwise my ex-wife will continue the process. In any case I have to weed out most of the stuff, as I dont want to rent a big self storage room. Ideally, I’ll put a few boxes here and there in friends’ basement 😉 The rest, I will give or sell.

Most of the furniture I’ll offer along with the flat. And so the first thing I’m going to miss is certainly the couch pictured here 🙂 It’s a great, comfortable couch, very large, especially for only one person ! I followed a strict diet a few years ago, focused on proteins, and strangely I dearly missed crunchy stuff. I was only eating meat and soft food, no biscuit of any kind. After a few weeks I was feeling like a crack addict in prison. I can sense, writing in said couch, that during the outdoor camping nights I will miss not having a firm and comfortable seat.

Second thing I’ll certainly miss is the very large shower. You can get lost in it 🙂 Staying a long time in a hot shower rain is a luxury that I enjoy as much as possible. I often feel like the whole civilization process has lead us to this point, and we must benefit from it as long as it exists. I’ll miss it as I probably wont have a shower everyday 🙂 That will be a big part of the adventure. In the same area, toilets will also be missed 😉

Having a double bed, being indoors, sheltered, in a quiet place (at least as long as the upstairs neighbours are not waking up…), I’ll probably miss, but I’m pretty sure I will be so tired every evening that I will be sound asleep quickly whatever the situation 🙂

I’m sure I won’t miss the television much, on the other hand. I had a few periods where I didn’t have one, and you can get used to that in a couple of weeks. Internet, not so much… 😉 I’ll get my hands on a e-reader soon to see if it replaces books well enough.

One thing I will NOT miss is the one hour of ironing every week end 🙂 Which turns into two hours as I forget to do it regularly. Frumpy lifestyle, here I come !

 

This was the material list of what I will miss and not miss. Of course, I’ll miss not getting to see friends now and then. If I keep the planning of about 5 months of riding, this’ll be the longest stretch of time being away yet. I spent a year on an exchange program in Leeds, UK, and as I didn’t know anyone, the first three months have been quite difficult. But here I’ll be in holidays, moving from place to place, meeting new people if only to ask for directions or a place to sleep. And as much as I like the UK, the weather shouldn’t be the same 😉

 

The biggest change though will probably NOT being on a regular schedule anymore, not having to wake up, go to work and come back, having free time to watch a movie or a series, etc. I’ll be completely free to press forward or stay in the same place, and decide where to go next. I’ve read on other blogs that the total liberty and flexibility provided by a bike ride is exhilarating. I have never experienced that before, and I’m looking forward to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

