Going east ?

Standard

us_map_logo_small

Crossing the USA can be done eastward or westward. I’ve always chosen to go from west to east.

That’s not the usual direction. Most Adventure cycling tours are actually done from east to west. That’s also the direction you take, philosophically, when you want to find an adventure. Over the course of history, mankind followed the course of the sun. Going west is looking for the future.

Going east, on the other hand, means you are looking for your origins. You search for the source of the sun, so to speak. That’s what I want to do, in this phase of my life.

I’ve never known my father, and I started searching a few weeks ago. I’ve asked my mother many questions over the last few years but received very few answers. I’m not sure I will find him, or even if he is still alive. The lack of a father figure never seemed to be a problem when I was young, but I realized a few years ago how much it impacted my life and the issues I faced – and especially what was never said about him or the situation.

So, I will be going east.

If you need to know, going north means searching for a challenge, while going south means looking for appeasement 🙂

2 thoughts on “Going east ?

  1. arturchix

    Hi, Fabrice, I hope you will find what you are looking for! 🙂 I did something similar a few years ago, only around Europe with a car (drove about 8000 km from Latvia to almost Portugal and back) and I did find some peace and a lot of fantastic impressions, then it was easier 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

